Eliminate Facebook Message Removal Guide

Threat Level:
6/10
Rate this Article:
Comments (0)
Article Views: 237
Category: Fake Warnings

Eliminate Facebook Message is a newly found malicious application that sends deceptive messages with links to malware on Facebook. This malware makes it look like one of your friends sent the message, but it is actually this program cleverly disguised itself as one of your friends to get your PC infected and then make your Facebook account send the same malicious message to all of your friends. Once your PC has become infected, this malware will also use the safe tactic to send you links to other websites to get your PC infected with more malicious software. On top of that, this program can collect anonymous information about you to advance its agenda. Therefore, it is vital that you remove this malware to ensure your computer's security.

This malware is set to compromise your Facebook account and send a malicious link to your friends. The links feature a shortened bit.ly link with text that “[name of the potential victim] Video :o .” If a person clicks this link, he/she can be redirected to a Google Doc page that contains a picture that was stolen from the victim’s Facebook profile. The picture is made to look like a video to trick a person into opening the file. However, this malware does not load a video but redirects you to websites that determine your browser type, approximate geographical location, and some other non-personally identifiable information.

Research has shown that Firefox users are redirected to a website that offers a fake Flash Player update and Chrome users are offered to install an unknown malicious extension. People using Safari on Mac are offered to install the newest version of Media Player. Hence, Eliminate Facebook Message is used to promote malicious software that further compromises a user’s computer.

If your PC becomes infected with Eliminate Facebook Message, then it will send the same fake message to all of your Facebook friends to distribute this infection further. Hence, the developers of this program have set it to distribute itself automatically, and this chain of infections is impossible to stop unless people get wise and ignore the fake personal messages.

We have found that Eliminate Facebook Message is part of a family of similar infections. This newest malware was first spotted in late August of 2017. In 2016 a similar malware called Eko was distributed in France which was used to collect personally identifiable information on the victims. That same year a malicious application called Locky Ransomware was distributed using deceptive Facebook Messages. The messages featured a picture in the SVG format that, once clicked, redirected users to a website that featured a malicious Chrome extension.

In closing, Eliminate Facebook Message is a highly malicious computer infection that promotes malware downloads in an unexpected way. It counts on Facebook users to get curious and open the malicious link that infects their PCs with it. It then proceeds to send the same message to all of the Facebook of an infected computer’s user to trigger a snowball effect and have many more PCs infected. We recommend that you remove this malware using the guide below which includes using SpyHunter’s free malware scanner to detect this malware so that you could navigate to the location of it and delete it.

Manual Removal Guide

  1. Open the browser.
  2. Go to http://www.411-spyware.com/download-sph
  3. Download SpyHunter-Installer.exe and install it.
  4. Launch it and select Scan Computer Now!
  5. Save the file path of the malicious file.
  6. Then, hold down Windows+E keys.
  7. Enter the file path of the malicious files in the File Explorer’s address box and press Enter.
  8. Right-click the malicious files and click Delete.
  9. Empty the Recycle Bin.
Download Remover for Eliminate Facebook Message *
*SpyHunter scanner, published on this site, is intended to be used only as a detection tool. To use the removal functionality, you will need to purchase the full version of SpyHunter.

Comments are closed.