Popup Removal Guide

Threat Level:
Rate this Article:
Comments (0)
Article Views: 279
Category: Fake Warnings Popup is yet another fake alert that is ready to appear out of nowhere and convince you that you need to install certain extensions on your Chrome web browser. This fake alert redirects you to a web page that also features a dialog box that says that you need to install an extension to leave the page. If you are created with this kind of message, then you ought to remove whatever is rendering on your browser because it will do that endlessly and, thus, obstruct your browsing experience. For more information, please read this whole article.

From the information we have gathered, we concluded that this particular alert is a scam that is shown when you get redirected to it from an affiliated website or ad featured on that website. You may be redirected trough a chain of sites and end up seeing Popup. Also, we have received information that a malicious browser add-on can also show you this fake alert. You may get such an add-on as a result of installing a malicious software bundle from a shady freeware distributing website. A bundled installer can install this malicious add-on secretly, especially since it cannot be reasoned that this alert is legitimate. In other words, there is no way to justify that this alert is legitimate and useful. Therefore, you need an anti-malware program to protect you against such programs and stop their installation dead in their tracks.

You can identify Popup from its text in the dialog box. It says “Add extension to leave” and "Do you want to leave this site? Changes you made may not be saved." This fake dialog box tries to convince users to install unwanted Google chrome extensions. There is no telling if the extensions are legitimate and if this fake alert will redirect you to some website that featured adware or potentially unwanted programs. You should not install the promoted extensions because they might hijack your browser’s homepage or render shady advertisements that can further jeopardize your computer’s security. Therefore, you should just ignore this fake alert if you encounter it while browsing the web or delete the browser extension that redirects you to it.

In closing, Popup is just a simple fake alert used to promote shady browser extensions, so do not believe its message and ignore it completely. Close the tab showing this warning because clicking OK might get your PC infected with malware. Moreover, you should identify and remove the browser add-on that shows this fake alert. Please see the guide below on how to remove a browser extension from Google Chrome. If you experience any issues with it as in not being able to get rid of this fake alert, then consider installing an anti-malware application that could deal with this annoying alert.

Removal Guide

  1. Open Google Chrome.
  2. Press Alt+F.
  3. Select More tools.
  4. Click Extensions.
  5. Find the malicious add-on.
  6. Click Remove.
Download Remover for Popup *
*SpyHunter scanner, published on this site, is intended to be used only as a detection tool. To use the removal functionality, you will need to purchase the full version of SpyHunter.


Your email address will not be published.


Enter the numbers in the box to the right *